

# Council

# Friday 6 March 2015 2.00 pm (Special Meeting)

# Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



### **COUNCIL (Special Meeting)**

### Friday 6 March 2015, at 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

### The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

#### MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Peter Rippon) THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Talib Hussain)

1	<i>Arbourthorne Ward</i> Julie Dore Mike Drabble Jack Scott	10	<i>Dore &amp; Totley Ward</i> Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	19	<i>Mosborough Ward</i> David Barker Isobel Bowler Tony Downing
2	<i>Beauchief &amp; Greenhill Ward</i> Simon Clement-Jones Roy Munn Richard Shaw	11	<i>East Ecclesfield Ward</i> Pauline Andrews Steve Wilson Joyce Wright	20	<i>Nether Edge Ward</i> Nasima Akther Nikki Bond Qurban Hussain
3	<i>Beighton Ward</i> Helen Mirfin-Boukouris Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders	12	<i>Ecclesall Ward</i> Penny Baker Roger Davison Diana Stimely	21	<i>Richmond Ward</i> John Campbell Lynn Rooney Paul Wood
4	<i>Birley Ward</i> Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	13	<i>Firth Park Ward</i> Sheila Constance Alan Law Chris Weldon	22	<i>Shiregreen &amp; Brightside Ward</i> Peter Price Sioned-Mair Richards Peter Rippon
5	<i>Broomhill Ward</i> Jayne Dunn Stuart Wattam Brian Webster	14	<i>Fulwood Ward</i> Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	23	<i>Southey Ward</i> Leigh Bramall Tony Damms Gill Furniss
6	<i>Burngreave Ward</i> Jackie Drayton Ibrar Hussain Talib Hussain	15	<i>Gleadless Valley Ward</i> Steve Jones Cate McDonald Tim Rippon	24	<i>Stannington Ward</i> David Baker Katie Condliffe Vickie Priestley
7	<i>Central Ward</i> Jillian Creasy Robert Murphy Sarah Jane Smalley	16	<i>Graves Park Ward</i> Ian Auckland Steve Ayris Denise Reaney	25	<i>Stocksbridge &amp; Upper Don Ward</i> Jack Clarkson Richard Crowther Philip Wood
8	<i>Crookes Ward</i> Rob Frost Anne Murphy Geoff Smith	17	<i>Hillsborough Ward</i> Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Harry Harpham Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea	18	<i>Manor Castle Ward</i> Jenny Armstrong Terry Fox Pat Midgley	27	<i>West Ecclesfield Ward</i> John Booker Adam Hurst Alf Meade
				28	<i>Woodhouse Ward</i> Mick Rooney

Jackie Satur Ray Satur John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Contact:

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services Tel: 0114 2734029 paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

### PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at <u>www.sheffield.gov.uk</u>. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked \* on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

#### FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

#### COUNCIL AGENDA 6 MARCH 2015

#### (Special meeting for the purposes of approving a Revenue Budget and Capital Programme and setting the Council Tax for the Financial Year 2015/16)

#### **Order of Business**

#### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

# 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST OR INABILITY TO VOTE ON THE SETTING OF THE COUNCIL TAX

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting, or an inability to vote on the setting of the Council Tax charge where there are arrears of at least two months on a Council Tax account they are solely or jointly liable for.

#### 3. PUBLIC QUESTIONS AND PETITIONS AND OTHER COMMUNICATIONS

To receive any questions or petitions from the public, or communications submitted by the Lord Mayor or the Chief Executive and to pass such resolutions thereon as the Council Procedure Rules permit and as may be deemed expedient.

## 4. REPRESENTATION, DELEGATED AUTHORITY AND RELATED ISSUES

To consider any changes to the memberships and arrangements for meetings of Committees etc., delegated authority, and the appointment of representatives to serve on other bodies.

#### 5. **REVENUE BUDGET AND CAPITAL PROGRAMME 2015/16**

To consider so much of the minutes of the meeting of the Cabinet held on 11<sup>th</sup> February 2015 arising from its consideration of (a) a joint report of the Chief Executive and the Interim Executive Director, Resources on the Revenue Budget 2015/16 and (b) a report of the Interim Executive Director, Resources on the Capital Programme 2015/16, and to pass resolutions thereon as appropriate.

NOTE: Reports on the Revenue Budget and Capital Programme 2015/16, updated since submission to the Cabinet so as to include information on the precepts, have been circulated to all Council Members with this Council Summons and can also be viewed at –

https://imgmeetings.sheffield.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?CId=154&MId=5633&Ver=4

Sha Notherde

Chief Executive

Dated this 26 day of February 2015

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 25 March 2015 at the Town Hall